Give Real Tennis a Try! 01223 357106 or

The Cambridge Leagues 2010

Posted on July 4, 2010 | in Cambridge League, NewsTicker | by

This year’s Cambridge Leagues have completed and the final results are in. In all, seventy five players from right across the spectrum of handicaps at the club competed in three different divisions.

Each of the five teams in each division played each other twice, once ‘away’ and once as hosts, providing the post-match food and drink. Three players from each team met at each fixture, and as each match won carried two points, and the fixture win an extra point, winning all three matches attracted seven points, winning two five and just one two points.

Winners in 2010:

  • King’s Parents
  • Tayabali, Tomlin and White
  • Hazard When Wet

There are plans for these three winning teams to play each other, under handicap, to decide a champion of champions….

…The Cambridge League Champion of Champions

The three winners of this year’s Cambridge League played each other, on handicap, to see who should take the title of Cambridge League Champion of Champions.

Kings Parents, winners of division 1, Taybali Tomlin & White, division 2 winners and Hazard When Wet, division 3, played each other to decide this covetted title.

Taybali Tomlin & White romped through their two fixtures to become Cambridge League Champion of Champions 2010. The wooden spoon went to Kings Parents after the burden of the handicap difference wore them down in the decider fixture with Hazard When Wet. Kings Parents did, however, take the honour of the Best Post-match Food award

Division One (handicaps 30-46)
Kings’ Parents
Glen Pilgrim, Julian Stafford (c), Nic Rhode, Nigel Brown, Linda Fairbrother, Norbert Peabody
Mead Turner & Co
Roger East, Mark Perriton, Rupert Grose, Patrick Ward, Chris Eggleton (c)
St Johns’ Parents
David Pimblett, William Russell, Charles D’Oyly, Graeme Menzies, Nicholas Heath, John Firth
Tee Lorimers
Phil Hind, John Lees (c), John Burnett, Steve Chadwick, John Howard [CURTC], John Trapp [Cambridge, Hardwick]
Nick Chrimes, Eric Nutter, Stuart Arrandale (c), John Kirkpatrick, Andrew Parkhouse


Division Two (handicaps 46-55)
Tayabali Tomlin & White
Gerald Smith, Malcolm Howlett, Imran Tayabali (c), Simon White, Jeremy Newsum
Mott Macdonald
Shaun Ruffles (c), Chris Walthew, David Dove, Simon King, Alasdair Poore
Kleinwort Benson
Alex Wright, Chris Wykes, Michael Magnay (c), Raymond Spencer, Justin McCann
Steve O’Rahilly, Ken Smith [Doctor/Academic], Robert Tasker, Barnaby Perks, Nick Wareham, Malcolm Kerr-Muir, Jon Fistein
Price Bailey
Julian Kirkpatrick, Jeremy Fairbrother, Lawrence Bailey (c), Paul Robison, Becky Coombs


Division Three (handicaps 55-70)
Hazard when Wet
Richard Holt, Guy Kirk, Philip Martin, Tom Hartley (c), Ian Mcgonigal
Shelford Stranglers
Neil Ruffles, Tony Clarke [New+Prstd] (c), Mike Whibley (c), Mark Evans, Jeremy Risebrow
Jeremy Davidson (c), Patrick Humphrey [Cambridge], Rob Cassels, Charles Rowland-Jones, Keith Beechener
Cambridge Central
Hugh Dawson, Mark Palmer, Michael Womack (c), Terry Gardner, Gillian Moore
Town & Gown
Ken Worthing, Paul Murray-John, Peter Miller, Rick Albrow, Jonathan Spence, Dave Isherwood

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Welcome to the CURTC Booking System based on John Burnett’s Book Now Plus!

Member No/Email
Please phone 01223 357106 or e-mail if you cannot login

CURTC is grateful for the support of our Sponsors…


…and Supporter!

CURTC, Cambridge, CB3 9DJ

Giraffe Club: CURTC Alumni

CURTC Membership Form: All Members